• Categories
    • Recent
    • Tags
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Groups
    • Torrents
    • Login

    Question about a torrent removed due to DMCA takedown

    Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GayTor.rent Support Discussions
    3 Posts 3 Posters 43 Views
    Loading More Posts
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
    Reply
    • Reply as topic
    Log in to reply
    This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
    • 6 Offline
      63839292974
      last edited by 63839292974

      Hi,

      I uploaded a torrent earlier today, but it was removed shortly afterwards due to a DMCA takedown notice.

      The tracker status in my client now shows something along the lines of DMCA takedown”. However, I can still see some peers who had already started downloading before the torrent was removed, and they still appear to be leeching from me.

      I just wanted to clarify:

      Should I simply remove the torrent from my client once the tracker is no longer responding, or is there anything else I should do? Should I re-upload?
      Does the upload still count?

      Thanks!

      ianfontinellI 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
      • ianfontinellI Offline
        ianfontinell @63839292974
        last edited by

        @63839292974 the tracker acts as a middleman between the seeder and leechers so they can find one another and start exchanging pieces. After the connection is established, the tracker is out of the equation, the exchange happens entirely between the peers' clients.

        So when a torrent is removed from the tracker, all the people who were already in the swarm stay connected, and can exchange pieces freely. It is advised to stay seeding so that the people who are already downloading aren't left in the dust. If you or anyone else already in the swarm disconnect, it is impossible to come back to it without the tracker.

        It would be an act of courtesy, won't increase your ratio. And about re-uploading it, it is a very dangerous idea, because if it's flagged again you can have your upload rights revoked for 90 days.

        Once again I'd like to remind everyone that it's not mandatory that you speak.

        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 3
        • F Offline
          frostycab
          last edited by

          I totally agree. Removal from the site simply means that new people won't be able to join the swarm, but those already connected will appreciate the torrent being kept active in your client until they have finished it. If you shut it down all they get is lost credit on the site for the portion they've already downloaded. The remaining download won't get marked on their accounts so it's kind to keep it going.

          Taste the rainbow! Eat crayons!

          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 2

          Hello! It looks like you're interested in this conversation, but you don't have an account yet.

          Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

          With your input, this post could be even better đź’—

          Register Login
          • 1 / 1
          • First post
            Last post